On Words And Verse

Some people rant, some like to curse,
As for me, I like to use verse;
Some like to paint to capture a scene,
I like to use words, both harsh and serene;
Maybe, “Aww, a caterpillar so soft on yon’ leaf,”
Or, “Help! There’s a mean man, and he’s after me!”
I can take one up mountains or down through the dale,
peacefully through heaven or fearfully through hell.

Some write or give speeches, verbose and loud,
soft words suit me, that can move a hard crowd;
Some go political, drumming up votes,
yes, issues affect me, but I write for folks;
I write to impress, express, and give thought
to things I am feeling, things gained or have lost;
In songs or poems, in sermons at times,
I like it best when the best words rhyme.

I realize not everyone feels as I do,
some have other things that keep them amused;
As for me, I love words, words that both stir and soothe.

-Donald R. Sansbury, 2013

7 thoughts on “On Words And Verse

  1. Donald – so glad you wrote the poem that expresses me exactly! 🙂 I’m so glad for NaPoWriMo because I have found additional wonderful poets on WordPress! I signed up to follow you and am looking forward to more beauties!

    • Thanks for the kind words of support and the following. I, too, am excited for NaPoWriMo for the same reasons. I look forward to reading your work. Wishing you inspired thoughts, Don…

    • Thanks. I’m working mostly on poetry this month participating in NaPoWriMo. I hope to pen a few short stories, jokes and anecdotes, especially those shared with me by my Dad and best friend who died four years ago at the age of 93. Thanks for following, Don…

      • NaPoWriMo gave me the inspiration to write poetry again this month, which I haven’t done since my teenage years! I’m not promoting the blog that I’m publishing the poems on, but I’m amazed at how many people are discovering it.

        Your dad sounds wonderful and I’ll look forward to reading his shared stories. 🙂

Leave a Reply

