BIRD OF PREY!

English: red-tailed hawk

English: red-tailed hawk (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Bird of prey, I watch you climbing on the wind
I’m transfixed as you soar majestically
You sweep and dip and turn with widespread wings
You seem to do all so effortlessly

There you soar again rising high above the trees
You turn again, I watching you face on
As you begin a dipping sweep
I’m suddenly seized with horror

RUN!, PEPPI, RUN! HE’S COMIMG AFTER YOU!
-AAIIGH!, AAIIGH!, GET OUT OF HERE, YOU CRAZY BIRD!
COME!, PEPPI, COME! LET ME HOLD YOU IN MY ARMS!
-AAIIGH!, AAIGH!, GO ON, YOU STUPID CRAZY BIRD!

Oh, bird of prey, you’ve left me trembling now as you rise
You’re no longer svelte and beautiful to me
The prey you sought with those hawkish eyes
was not a mouse or rabbit jumping playfully

You saw my little lapdog, Peppi, moving merrily
jumping as her short little dachshund legs require
to bounce and bound through grass at play
Calming now, I understand, nature fetched your fiendish desire

-Donald R. Sansbury, 2013

Leave a Reply

