Deaths of Legends and Icons

English: Hostess Twinkies. Yellow snack cake w...

English: Hostess Twinkies. Yellow snack cake with cream filling. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Another legend died today
The news is spreading fast
Many have words to say
Most that’s said is sad

Legends and Icons touch us so
though most we never knew
Public profiles is all we truly know
through bodies of work and lots of news

Be it singer, politician, or Hostess cakes
an icon at an end really moves us
Collectively a nation or populace double takes,
reflects, regrets, appreciates, and muses.

Then the news cycle churns out fresh updates
And we leave ‘old’ legends for the ‘news’ of the day.

-Donald R. Sansbury, 2013

~While I would not consider myself a huge George Jones fan, many of my family and friends were. I did particularly like “He Stopped Loving Her Today” because of the lyrics and emotions of unstoppable love. As with Twinkies, I hate to see George and anyone or anything that was a staple part of my youth die. Makes me feel like I’m getting old at too young an age…~

Leave a Reply

