The Barking Dog

English: Barking Dog

English: Barking Dog (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

How long can a dog continuously bark
Longer than my nerves can bear
Is the poor creature sick or starved
Now, his barking is all I hear

His owner is not the friendliest chap
Should I’d go down and inquire
Oh, good, dog’s finally stopped barking now
I was about to become unwired

Came to my country home, neighbor’s a recluse
Doesn’t take to meddling about his pets
But, I’m a pet owner, too, and love pets true
And can’t bear to hear pets in distress

All quite now and I’m so glad
The furry friend has some relief
That ornery neighbor finally got out of bed
And saw to his penned up pet’s need

-Donald R. Sansbury, 2013

~On My Soapbox Now: Pets are like children, if you’re gonna have ’em, look after ’em!

2 thoughts on “The Barking Dog

  1. Howdy I am so thrilled I came across your internet site, I must say i found you by error, while I
    was searching on Yahoo for something different,
    None the less I’m here now and would the same as to express kudos for a huge post and a over-all entertaining web log (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time for you to go over all of it at the minute but I have bookmarked it and also added your RSS feeds, when I’ve time I will be back once again to read much more, Please do
    continue the awesome job.

Leave a Reply

