Weekly Photo Challenge: Pattern (Snake!)

In a new post specifically created for this challenge, share a picture which means PATTERN to you!

Snake `13ac

Unwelcome Visitor

I almost stepped on this unwelcome visitor when I was preparing to do a plumbing repair on my country home. I was startled to say the least. He coiled and then used his tail to rustle the leaves to simulate the sound of a rattlesnake. His actions combined with the pattern on his skin convinced me, so I took off his head. It appeared on closer examination he may have been a non-poisonous rat snake. However, he convinced me otherwise and paid the price for it. The slight blur is not the fault of my camera, only my nerves.

-Donald R. Sansbury, 2013

16 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Pattern (Snake!)

  1. you would certainly have learned quickly who was unwelcome if you’d have encroached. i’m surprised you have even made it anywhere near his home to get such good pics. me? a telephoto would do just fine.

    • I must admit I was not so brave. I had gotten back up on a porch and was using a little zoom. My heart rate was excessively high by that time. They are non-poisonous but do strike. I would have probably died from a heart attack had that happened. I was only able to determine he was a white oak rat snake after I had killed him and had gotten him out from among the dead leaves and debris.

  2. Pingback: Weekly photo challenge: Pattern | blogagaini

  3. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Pattern (prayer wheels Gyantse Tibet) | What's (in) the picture?

  4. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Pattern (B4 Retouch 11: Porspoder) | What's (in) the picture?

  5. Pingback: Weekly photo challenge: Patterns | Between Land and Sky

  6. Pingback: Weekly photo challenge: patterns-Kengiro Azuma sculptor in Matera, Italy 2010 | Bastet and Sekhmet

  7. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge – Pattern: Roofs | Flickr Comments

  8. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Pattern (B4 Retouch 12: Porspoder 2) | What's (in) the picture?

  9. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Pattern (Gyantse Kumbum) | What's (in) the picture?

  10. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Pattern (Sherpa Tibet) | What's (in) the picture?

    • I agree and said the same to my son. They are actually a help with the rodent population. Thanks for dropping by and also for taking time to comment. Happy blogging…

  11. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Pattern (2) | Bastet and Sekhmet

Leave a Reply

