Mom’s Tummy Handkerchief

Happy Mother’s Day, Mom. This is the 18th without you and I still miss you so much and especially on Mother’s Day. Thank you for all were for me. My memories of you are like nuggets of purest gold. Unending Love…Don

Donbury Pond

I’m remembering little things today, Mom,
Seemingly, so insignificant on the whole;
Yet, little thoughts I’ve come to treasure like gold.
Why such tears after you’ve been gone so long?
I cannot explain, yet, these tears today bring me joy.

I remember just a simple little trip,
on the way to check on a friend,
I remember watching through my little boy eyes
as you slipped a ladies’ handkerchief between
your lingering ‘mommy tummy’ and
the great big steering wheel in that old car.
You answered my little boy curiosity with such patience,
kindly explaining how it was going to prevent
‘that big old steering wheel’ from soiling your dress
as you drove down the road on our trip.

I was no longer a little boy when I saw for the first time
the picture of you Dad carried in his wallet over sixty years;
It was of you as…

View original post 141 more words

Leave a Reply

