Chilling Out (poetically)

Daily Prompt: The Zone

Tell us about your favorite way to get lost in a simple activity — running, chopping vegetables, folding laundry, whatever. What’s it like when you’re in “the zone”?

Chill Out Cafe

Chill Out Cafe (Photo credit: Infrogmation)

When I feel that tired exhausted feeling
from a long day’s work well done
Or when I’ve finished a time of speaking
I’m so ready for my “chill out” zone.

Maybe not all creative ones run low like me
artistry tends to drain my juices
I have to find a little time ‘think’ free
like television, my feet up, totally useless

Lounging in my favorite chair
my little lap dog loves this time
Sports, cops or drama, I don’t care
they all seem to work just fine

Sometimes a nap helps get the job done
or a simple little walk around the block
or chilling with ‘my lady, my one and only one’
then my brain starts spinning and I’m ready to rock

-Donald R. Sansbury, 2013

One thought on “Chilling Out (poetically)

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Getting Into The Zone | My Daily Prompt Blog

Leave a Reply

