Putting Off Seeing the Physician

Daily Prompt: Take Care

 

When you’re unwell, do you allow others to take care of you, or do you prefer to soldier on alone? What does it take for you to ask for help?

 

English: Herbal Medicine Man

English: Herbal Medicine Man (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

The doctor asked why do you wait
until you’re almost well before you come my way
It’s a family habit I said to him
Grandpa was an old time medicine man
My mom was much like him with remedies galore
she knew a cure for everything from old time country lore
In a time long past when doctors were scarce
folks would call on Grandpa for help with their care
Never anything invasive, just natural cures and herbs
Such knowledge was passed down to him, thus he learned
My problem is I only know enough to help endure my pain
To get well I always have to go and see my doctor yet again

 

-Donald R. Sansbury, 2013

 

Leave a Reply

